EB-5移民常见问题

1990年,根据移民与规划法案(INA)(8 U.S.C. § 1153(b)(5))的203(b)(5)条,美国国会创立了第五类雇佣优先移民签证类别(简称EB-5)。每一年,该条款提供一万个移民签证给合格的寻求永久居民身份的个人,颁发签证的基础是他(她)们投资于一个新的商业企业并造福于美国经济。

为了鼓励通过EB-5计划的移民,美国国会于1993年创立了区域中心试点计划。该计划特别拨出每年3000个签证给外国投资人,这些投资人通过一个美国公民和移民署(USCIS)指定的区域中心进行申请。寻求EB-5移民签证的投资人必须进行一百万美元的合规投资。对于位于乡村地区或在目标就业区(国家认可的低就业区,简称TEA,这些地区的失业率高于正常值)的企业,申请EB-5签证的投资人可以进行较低的投资──五十万美元。此外,外国投资人必须证明其投资通过直接、间接或诱导效应创造了至少十个美国就业机会。绿卡基金专长于在目标就业区(TEA)的EB-5项目,这些项目可以创造超过USCIS所要求的每个投资人10个岗位的就业机会。

当您通过一个区域中心投资时,如果您选择一个位于指定乡村地区或目标就业区(国家认可的低就业区或TEA)的项目,最低资本投资要求是五十万美元。对于其它未满足以上要求的项目,资本投资要求是一百万美元。绿卡基金积极地寻找亚利桑那州指定的位于乡村或目标就业区(TEA)的合格项目,以便确保向尽可能多的合格投资人提供投资移民机会。
一个目标就业区(或简称TEA)是美国的一个地理地区,或者是乡村(人口低于两万人),不是一个大都会(MSA)的一部分,或者其失业率是全美平均值的150%。
美国绿卡有很多福利。每个人都有他(她)自己的理由需要美国永久居民身份,获得一张美国绿卡可以带来很多福利,帮助投资人实现其目标。获得美国绿卡带来的一些福利介绍如下:

  • EB-5投资移民计划下的所有合法永久居民享有与美国所有其他合法居民同样的权利和福利。
  • 美国是您和您的家庭及业务资产的安全避风港。您家庭的任何成员,只要有一张绿卡,可以如其所愿在任何时间进入美国,并在美国居住任意长的时间。
  • 永久居民无需签证就可以前往美国。
  • 持有绿卡的EB-5投资人可以出于个人、贸易和业务目的自由进出美国。
  • EB-5投资人可以在美国的任意地点工作、生活、或拥有他(她)自己的企业。
  • 美国拥有国际认可的大学和学院,既有本科教育也有研究生教育。作为一名永久居民,EB-5投资人享有低学费的福利。
  • 在美国上大学的学生可以工作,毕业之后也可以工作,帮助学生支付部分学费,而且可以在进行研究生学习和进一步教育期间工作。
  • 美国的生活成本比大多数大的工业化国家都低。消费产品、服务和住房的价格比大多数其它国家的类似商品低很多。
  • 美国提供众多的经济资助、社会福利和教育福利──公立学校、保健和医疗服务、社保和教育。

永居权不需要延期或再次申请。其它美国非移民签证,诸如E-2和H签证永远不可以转成永居身份,有时间限制,并且需要在美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)或美国国务院进行额外申报。另外,美国移民法可能发生变化,在您以后申请签证延期时可能会被拒绝。

投资人、其配偶、其所有年龄在21周岁以下的未婚子女有资格通过EB-5计划获得绿卡。
不要求投资人具备任何既往的商业经验。同样,也不要求投资人提供任何最低限度的教育证明。对投资人的唯一要求是他或她拥有来源合法的投资资本数额,而且能够向美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)提供必要的个人背景证明文件。
不需要。美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)并不要求您会讲英语才能获得EB-5计划资格。但是,与您的EB-5申请(I-526表)一起提交的所有文件必须是英文文件,并由投资人本人签署。任何非英文文件必须附带一份经过认证的英文翻译件。
按照美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)规定,投资人必须证明或提供证据说明他的资产是依法获取的。这要求投资人证明其投资资金是通过合法的商业、工资、投资、物业销售、遗产继承、赠予、贷款或任何其它合法途径获得的。
可以,前提是已经支付了相关的赠予税。同时必须证明该赠予是一次公平的交易,而不是一个计策或骗局,比如该赠予资金将在获得永居身份后退还。
技术上说,是的,世界上任何国家的个人都有资格申请EB-5签证。但是,某些国家的税务和财务文件不是很可靠,要求来自那些国家的个人积极努力地提供足够的资金证明文件给美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)。
在美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)网站 此处链接(此处链接)可以找到所有的相关表格,或者,我们的EB-5资源资料页面也提供方便的展示和下载 此处链接(点击这里)
按照美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)规定,一名获批EB-5签证的投资人将获得一张条件绿卡,有效期两年。在条件绿卡颁发九个月之后,开启一段三个月的窗口期,在窗口期之内投资人向美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)提交另外一项申请,验证所有资金已投资到位,而且创造就业岗位的要求已经满足。随后去除临时绿卡上的限制条件,并颁发一张永久性绿卡给投资人。除此以外,两张绿卡(即有条件和无条件绿卡)提供同样的权利和特权。
为了完成EB-5流程并成为美国永久居民,外国投资人必须走完下列步骤和流程:

第一步:

美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS) I-525表──外国企业家移民申请。

在您填写完“合格投资人问卷调查”,选择了一个投资项目,签署了所有文件并向某个区域中心认购项目,并根据协议将您的投资资金汇给项目的第三方代为保管之后,这是您EB-5流程里的第一个正式步骤。I-526表申请与支持文件一起由您的移民律师提交给美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS),这些支持文件清楚地证明您的投资满足所有的EB-5要求。

第二步:

美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)I-485表和领事审查。在收到I-526表批准之后,已经居住在美国的投资人可以提交一份“永居身份登记或身份调整的完整申请”(I-485表)给美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)。对于居住于美国之外的投资人的流程类似,但要求投资人在其所在国的美国领事馆申请移民签证。

第三步:

美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)I-829表──“去除条件的企业家申请”。在初始的I-526表批准之后的一年零九个月之后,投资人可以提交填写完毕的I-829表给美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS),以便撤除其绿卡上的限制条件,并建立永居身份。提交这份申请时,投资人必须证明其在两年的条件期内保持了投资,而且投资项目满足了创造就业机会的要求。在这个步骤中,投资选择的区域中心将协助投资人并提供所需要的文件。I-829申请批准之后,无条件的永久居民身份就授予投资人、其配偶以及任何21周岁以下的未婚子女。

在您的I-526申请获批之后,您必须等待贵国的美国领事馆通知,然后准备文件进行面签。这个程序的目的是确保投资人及其家属在有条件永居签证颁发之前经过医疗、警方、保安和移民历史检查。在面谈时,领事馆官员可能提出这些问题,以及印在I-526申请中的问题—包括要求投资人总结其移民投资的性质。如果投资人或其家属已在美国,则您可以向合适的美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)分支机构提交I-485表和相关的支持文件以申请身份调整。
过去的拒签并不妨碍申请人,除非拒签的理由与移民欺诈或其它重大问题有关。最重要的是在提交您的申请之前,要把所有的犯罪、医疗或美国移民历史问题提交给认购项目合作方和法律顾问。
家属可以在不同国家面签。原住国或当前与家庭有关联的国家是标准的面签地点。家庭的某个成员经常身处其它国家,例如在美国上学的学生。该学生不需要返回原住国,并可以在美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)在美国的区域办事处进行身份调整。
对投资人来说最普遍的问题是资金来源的文件证明不足。很多人希望披露的信息越少越好,结果就是申请被退回,官方需要进一步的信息。与其信息提供太少,不如提供过多信息。在当今恐怖主义和反洗钱的大环境下,美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)审查员要求资金来源的充分文件记录。
对任何投资人,当他们在美国海外领事馆拿到签证之后的第一个要求是在领事馆发放签证之后的180天内进入美国。投资人随后必须在美国建立居住状态。居住意图的证据包括开立银行账户、取得驾照或社保号,支付个人所得州税和联邦税,并租赁或购买住房。原则上所有的永久居民必须每年在美国居住6个月以上,否则就会被已经放弃了其永居身份。不过视具体情况,永久居民仍可以按需在海外工作,取决于业务或职业的性质。
一旦您获得绿卡并成为永久居民,您拥有美国公民的大部分权利和义务,除了您不能投票,不享有某些公共福利以外。要求您与公民一样进行税务申报,您的税率和税务减免与公民一样。

合法永久居民所享有的一个最重要的权利之一是在美国居住五年之后申请美国公民权。有两种方式成为美国公民。一个是出生于美国或一个美国公民是您的父亲或母亲。另外一种方式是通过归化。通过归化流程成为美国公民的第一步是成为一名“合法永久居民”(LPR)。成为一名五年的合法永久居民(LPR)是归化资格的一个最基本要求。第二项要求是在提交您的归化申请之前的五年里在美国亲身居住最少30个月。一旦您归化成功,并成为一名美国公民,您有权获得其它权利包括投票权和担任公职的权利。

一个“第三方托管银行账户”是开立在声誉良好银行的合法持有账户。这种类型的账户普遍用于房地产销售、企业出售和个人资产的出售。为了满足EB-5的要求,一名投资人必须在提交EB-5签证的I-526申请之前,将50万美元的资本投资资金汇入项目的第三方托管账户。申请流程要求投资人证明他(她)的投资资金已经在美国到位。典型的资金投资到位证据包括电汇收据和银行出具的资金确认函。
来自投资人的初始现金存款存放在一个第三方托管账户。当一个第三方托管银行账户开立时,资金还是继续属于投资人的。律师或银行与投资人有协议,只有在投资人的I-526申请获得美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)批准之后,资金才能从账户里释放出去。

EB-5区域中心常见问题

EB-5区域中心是一个组织,由美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)指定和监管,负责在EB-5移民投资人计划下募集的资本,以推动对创造就业的经济开发项目的投资。区域中心可以是公有的(比如,由某个市、州或区域经济开发管理局所有),或者私有的,或公有-私有合伙制。
  • 鉴别可以在本地创造就业的投资机会,经常与经济开发管理局合作。
  • 向来自全世界的投资人推广投资机会。
  • 确保投资方案符合联邦和州证券法和证券交易委员会(SEC)的规定,并满足EB-5的各项合规要求。
与EB-5区域中心关联的EB-5投资是通过私募方式进行的—即对相对较低数目的特选投资人进行证券销售。公司在不同情况下使用私募形式来募集资本,如同所有的私募资本一样,EB-5集资受到联邦和州证券法规的监管。

我们会制定一份私募备忘录(PPM),该备忘录详细说明投资计划,包括对需要资金项目的详细解释,以及风险披露和重要信息,所有披露都符合适用的联邦法和州法。特别是与EB-5相关项目的经济影响──预期将创造的就业机会,也将在备忘录中提供详细信息。某些情况下,私募备忘录的发布方就是EB-5区域中心本身;而其他一些情况,发布方是接受投资资金的企业实体,即区域中心的合作方。

根据法律规定,EB-5投资必须像其它具有固有风险的股权投资、股票投资或任何其它类型投资一样“承受风险”。区域中心就像其它推广投资机会的实体一样,不能担保投资回报。区域中心根据法律规定也不能向投资人做保本担保。
根据法律,要求一名EB-5投资人投资至少一百万美元,除非投资项目位于一个目标就业区域(简称TEA)──指农村地区或美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)指定的高失业率地区。位于TEA的区域中心需要每个投资人至少五十万美元的投资。
EB-5投资对于项目方无额外的风险。项目方与这笔资金的互动就如同任何其它股权投资或融资投资一样,虽然EB-5投资的成本经常较低。
是的。很多情况下,EB-5融资相比其它方式是一种低成本的资金,因为投资人对EB-5资金的回报率要求经常比其它资金来源低。此外,获得EB-5资金提高了一个企业或项目的整体流动性,并降低了从其它来源获取资金的成本。
EB-5区域中心通过促进对项目直接投资,满足指定地理区域有关创造工作机会和经济发展的目标。区域中心汇集多个EB-5投资人的投资并向大规模的项目投入该资本,与区域经济发展管理部门的目标是一致的。
简而言之,不需要。按照美国公民和移民服务局(USCIS)规定,投资人是一个有限合伙企业的有限合伙人,该有限合伙企业符合“统一有限合伙企业法”,投资人在EB-5项目中被认为进行了足够的参与。这意味着作为一名有限合伙人,在区域中心计划中,不要求投资人为了获得绿卡而积极参与到新的商业企业的管理或经营中。
区域中心是有限合伙企业的普通合伙人(GP),并将负责有限合伙企业的日常管理,而且对有限合伙企业的所有成员(LP)的利益负责,并负责汇报项目进展。
不需要。EB-5签证计划允许投资人在美国境内选择的任何地点生活并保持其永居身份。
EB-5区域中心计划的优势在于参与EB-5计划的外国投资人来自范围广泛的众多国家, 有不同文化、具备多元化的个人和职业背景。

EB-5项目方客户常见问题

正在建设中

EB-5 Immigration FAQ

In 1990, under section 203(b)(5) of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA), 8 U.S.C. § 1153(b)(5) the US Congress created the fifth employment-based preference (EB-5) immigrant visa category. Each year, the provision grants 10,000 immigrant visas to qualified individuals seeking permanent resident status on the basis that their investment in a new commercial enterprise that will benefit the US economy.

To encourage immigration through the EB-5 program, U.S. Congress created the Regional Center Program in 1993. The program specifically sets aside 3,000 visas each year for foreign investors who apply through a United States Citizen and Immigration Services (USCIS) designated Regional Center. An investor seeking an EB-5 immigrant visa through a designated Regional Center must generally make a qualifying investment of $1,000,000 USD. For businesses in rural areas or in Targeted Employment Areas (TEA) with higher-than-normal levels unemployment, investors applying for an EB-5 visa may qualify with a lesser investment of $500,000. Additionally, the foreign investor must demonstrate that the investment created at least 10 U.S. jobs through direct, indirect, and induced effects. Green Card Fund specializes in EB-5 projects in Targeted Employment Areas that create jobs in excess of the USCIS requirement of 10 jobs per investor.

When investing through a Regional Center, the minimum capital investment requirement is $500,000 USD when you select a project in a designated rural area or Targeted Employment Area (TEA). For other projects not meeting these criteria, the capital investment requirement is $1,000,000 USD. Green Card Fund actively seeks quality projects that reside in rural or TEA areas specifically designated by the State of Arizona in order to ensure that our invest to immigrate opportunities are available to as many qualified investors as possible.
A Targeted Employment Area, or TEA, is a geographic area in the United States which is either Rural (has a population of less than 20,000), is not part of an MSA, or has an unemployment rate that is 150% of the national average.
There are many benefits to obtaining a U.S. Green Card. Each person has his or her own reasons for wanting permanent residence in the United States, and having a Green Card provides many benefits that help investors to accomplish their goals. Some of the benefits of securing a U.S. Green Card include:

  • All legal permanent residents under the EB-5 Investor Program enjoy the same rights and benefits as every other lawful resident of the United States.
  • The U.S. is a safe harbor for your family as well as for your personal and business assets. Any member of your family with a Green Card can enter the United States at any time and stay as long as he or she wishes.
  • EB-5 investors holding Green Cards have access to the United States for personal, trade and business purposes.
  • Permanent residents travel to the U.S. without the need of a visa.
  • EB-5 investors may work, live, or own their own businesses anywhere in the United States.
  • The U.S. has internationally recognized colleges and universities for both undergraduate education and graduate study. As a permanent resident, EB-5 investors can benefit from lower tuition costs associated with U.S. residency.
  • The cost of living in the U.S. is less than most large industrial nations. Consumer goods, services, and housing are significantly less expensive than comparable services and goods in most other countries.
  • Students may work in the U.S. while they attend college and then continue to work afterwards, enabling the student to pay for part of his education and to work while attending graduate and postgraduate studies.
  • The U.S. provides many financial, social and education entitlements – public schools, health and medical attention, social security, and education.
  • The Investor has the ability to bring other family members to the U.S. after proper application, and can obtain U.S. citizenship after 5 years of residing in the U.S.

The permanent residency requires no renewal or re-application. Other U.S. non-immigrant visas, such as E-2 and H may never result in permanent residency, have time limits, and require additional filings with USCIS or Department of State. Furthermore, U.S. immigration laws may change and prevent future approval when a renewal of visa is required.

The investor, spouse, and all unmarried children under the age of 21 are eligible to receive Green Cards through the EB-5 program.
The investor is not required to have any prior business experience. Likewise, the investor is not required to demonstrate any minimum level of education. The only requirements for the investor are that he or she has the required investment amount from lawfully obtained capital and is able to provide the necessary personal background documentation to the USCIS.
No, the USCIS does not require you to speak English in order to be eligible for the EB-5 program. However, all documents submitted with your EB-5 application (Form I-526) must be English documents signed by the investor. Any non-English documents need to be accompanied by a certified translation.
Under USCIS regulations, the investor must demonstrate or provide proof that his assets were gained in a lawful manner. This requires the investor to prove his investment funds were obtained through lawful business, salary, investments, property sales, inheritance, gift, loan, or other lawful means.
Yes, provided that any applicable gift taxes are paid. It must also be demonstrated that the gift is an actual “arms-length” transaction and is not a mere ruse or that the gifted funds will be given back after permanent resident status is granted
Technically, yes, a person from any country in the world is eligible to apply for an EB-5 visa. However, some countries have less than reliable tax and financial documentation which will require persons from those countries to actively work to provide adequate source of funds authentication to the USCIS.
All of the relevant forms can be found on the USCIS website or conveniently displayed in our EB-5 Resource Library here.
Under USCIS regulations, an investor who gets approved for an EB-5 investor visa receives a conditional Green Card that is valid for two years. One year and nine months after the conditional Green Card is issued, a three-month window opens up during which an investor files another application with the USCIS to verify that all funds have been invested and that job creation requirements have been met. When the conditions are removed from the temporary Green Card, full resident status is granted and a permanent Green Card is issued to the investor. Otherwise, the two cards offer the same rights and privileges.
In order to complete the EB-5 process and become a permanent U.S. resident, foreign investors must work through three steps:

Step 1: USCIS Form I-526 – Immigrant Petition by Alien Entrepreneur. This is your first official step in the EB-5 process after completing your Accredited Investor Questionnaire, choosing a Project, signing all of the proper documents to subscribe to a Regional Center Project, and placing your funds in escrow with the project. The I-526 Application is submitted to the USCIS by your immigration attorney along with supporting documentation that clearly demonstrates that your investment meets all EB-5 requirements.

Step 2: USCIS Form I-485/Consular Review. After receiving approval of the I-526 Application, investors already residing in the U.S. may submit a completed Application to Register Permanent Residence or Adjust Status (Form I-485) to the USCIS. For investors residing outside of the U.S. – the process is similar but requires the investor to apply for an immigrant visa at the US Consulate in their country of residence.

Step 3: USCIS Form I-829 – Petition by Entrepreneur to Remove Conditions. One year and nine months after initial I-526 approval, investors can file a completed Form I-829 with the USCIS to have conditions removed from their Green Card and establish permanent residency. With this petition, the investor must demonstrate that the investment was sustained throughout the two-year conditional period and that job creation requirements were met by the project. During this process, the investor is aided by their chosen Regional Center in providing the requisite documentation. Upon approval of the I-829 application, full permanent resident status is given to the investor and his or her spouse and any unmarried children under 21 years of age.

Upon approval of your I-526 Petition, you must wait for notification from the US Consulate in your home country to prepare documents for the Visa interview. The purpose of this procedure is to ensure that the investor and his or her family undergo medical, police, security and immigration history checks before conditional permanent resident visas are issued. At the interview, the consulate officer may address these issues as well as information printed on the I-526 application – including asking the investor to summarize the nature of his or her immigrant investment. If the investor and his or her family are in the United States, then you may apply for adjustment of status by filing form I-485 along with supporting documents at the appropriate office of the USCIS.
Rejection in the past does not disqualify the applicant, unless the reasons are related to immigration fraud or other major problems. It is most important that all criminal, medical, or U.S. immigration history problems be disclosed to the limited partnership and legal counsel in advance of submitting your application.
Family members can interview in different countries. The country of origin or where the family has current ties is the standard interview site. Often one member of the family is located in another country, such as a student attending school in the U.S. The student does not have to return to the country of origin and can adjust status in the United States at the district office of the USCIS.
The most common problem area for investors has been insufficient documentation of the source of funds. Many people try to disclose the least possible information only to have the file returned with a request for further information. It is better to provide too much information rather than too little information. In this era of terror alerts and suspicions about money laundering, USCIS adjudicators require a well-documented source of funds.
The first requirement of any investor after they receive the visa at the United States overseas consulate office is to enter the United States within 180 days of visa issuance from the consulate. The investor must then establish residency in the United States. Evidence of intent to reside includes opening bank accounts, obtaining a driver’s license or social security number, paying state and federal income taxes, and renting or buying a home. The United States resident may work overseas if required based upon the nature of the business or profession. However, all permanent residents must remain in the U.S. for more than 6 months out of each year, or they may be deemed to have abandoned their permanent residency status.
Once you obtain a Green Card and become a permanent legal resident, you have most of the rights and obligations of U.S. citizens, except that you cannot vote and are not entitled to certain public benefits. You are subject to the same tax filing requirements and entitled to the same tax rates and deductions as U.S. citizens.

One of the most important rights legal permanent residents possess is the right to apply for U.S. Citizenship after residing in the United States for five (5) years. There are two ways to become a U.S. citizen. One is by being born in the U.S. or being born to a U.S. citizen. The other is by way of naturalization. The first step in becoming a U.S. Citizen through the naturalization process is to become a Legal Permanent Resident (LPR). Being an LPR for 5 years is one of the basic requirements necessary to qualify for naturalization. A second requirement is maintaining a physical presence in the U.S. for a minimum of 30 months during the 5 years prior to the submission of your application for naturalization. Once you are naturalized and become a U.S. citizen, you are entitled to additional benefits including the right to vote and hold public office.

An Escrow Bank Account is a legal holding account established in a reputable bank. This type of account is commonly used in the sale of real estate, businesses and personal property. In order to comply with the requirements of EB-5, an investor must transfer the $500,000 capital investment amount to the Project Escrow Account before filing their I-526 application for an EB-5 visa. Part of the application process requires the investor to prove that the investment amount has been invested in the United States. Typically, proof of invested capital consists of Wire Transfer receipts and Confirmation of Funds letters issued by the bank.
The initial cash deposit from the investor is placed in an Escrow Bank Account. When an Escrow Bank Account is established, the funds continue to belong to the investor. The attorney or bank has an agreement with the investor that allows the funds to be released from the account only after the investor’s I-526 petition has been approved by the USCIS.

EB-5 Regional Center FAQ

An EB-5 Regional Center is an organization, designated and regulated by USCIS, which facilitates investment in job-creating economic development projects by pooling capital raised under the EB-5 immigrant investor program. Regional centers can be publicly owned, (e.g. by a city, state, or regional economic development agency), privately owned, or be a public-private partnership.
  • Identify investment opportunities that will create jobs in local communities, often in partnership with economic development agencies.
  • Assist in marketing those investment opportunities to investors from around the world.
  • Ensure that the investment offering complies with federal and state securities laws and SEC regulations as well as specific EB-5 requirements.
EB-5 investments that are affiliated with EB-5 Regional Centers are made through private placements – the sale of securities to a relatively small number of select investors. Like all private placements, which are used by companies to raise capital in a number of contexts, EB-5 private placements are governed by federal and state securities laws and regulations.

A private placement memorandum is developed that details the investment offering, including detailed explanations of the project that will be funded along with disclosures of risk and material information consistent with all applicable federal and state laws. The economics of the project related to EB-5 specifically – the expected job creation – are also detailed in the memorandum. In some cases, the issuer of the private placement memorandum is an EB-5 Regional Center itself. In other situations, the issuer is business entity that will be receiving the investment funds and is affiliated with a Regional Center.

By law, EB-5 investments must be “at risk” in the same way that any equity, stock or other type of investment carries inherent risk. Regional centers, like other entities that market investment opportunities, cannot guarantee a return on investment. Regional Centers also cannot guarantee return of the investment principal to the investor.
By law, an EB-5 investor is required to invest a minimum of $1 million, unless the investment is located in a Targeted Employment Area (TEA) – a rural area or area of high-unemployment designated by USCIS. Regional Centers a minimum of $500,000 from each EB-5 investor.
Companies bear no additional risk for EB-5 investment. They interact with the money as any other equity or financing investment, albeit often at a lower cost.
Yes. In many instances, EB-5 funding is a lower-cost form of capital than alternatives because investor demand for return on their investment is often lower for EB-5 capital than other sources of capital. In addition, securing EB-5 capital increases the overall liquidity of a business or project which, in turn, reduces the cost of acquiring capital from other sources.
EB-5 Regional Centers facilitate direct investment in projects that meet the job creation and economic development goals of designated geographic areas. Regional Centers pool investments made by multiple EB-5 investors and deploy that capital to large-scale projects, often in coordination with regional economic development agencies.
In short, no. According to USCIS regulations, investors acting as limited partners in a limited partnership that conforms to the Uniform Limited Partnership Act are deemed to be sufficiently engaged in the EB-5 project. This means that as a limited partner, investors are not required to actively participate in the management or operation of the new commercial enterprise in order to qualify for a Permanent Green Card through the Regional Center Pilot Program.
The Regional Center acts as General Partner of the Limited Partnership and will oversee the interests of all members of the Limited Partnership by being responsible for the day to day management of the Limited Partnership and reporting on the progress of the project.
No. The EB-5 visa program allows investors to maintain their Permanent Residency by living anywhere of their choosing within the United States.
The beauty of the EB-5 Regional Center Program is that there is no such thing as an ideal investor. Foreign investors who participate in the EB-5 program include people from a wide variety of countries, cultures, and personal or professional backgrounds.